First week in The Big Apple!

WOW, WOW, and WOW!  I love NYC!  There is so much energy and diversity here.  The sightseeing, food, and shopping have not failed my expectation! We have eaten well, managed to walk what feels like thousands of blocks, seen many sights, and I have managed to do SOME shopping!  I have never been surrounded by so many tall buildings, it just blew my mind when I first got here. I couldn’t stop looking up at all the tall sky scrapers when I was walking around that I nearly tripped onto my face multiple times.

It has been really nice being reunited my mom, sister, and my sisters husband; the three of them flew all the way up from Chile.  We rented a cute little two bedroom apartment right next to Times Square and Hells Kitchen (49th St and 8th Ave).  It has a small living room area with a kitchen and one bathroom.  I guess it is a little crammed but that’s pretty expected in New York City since space is limited with so many people.

1240585_4718721306185_1961944550_n

The NYC crew: my sister Danny and her husband Alvaro, my mom, and I

The day I arrived at NYC it was just my mom and I.  My sister and Alvaro flew in a day later.  I treasure the moments I am able to spend time with my mom, I just adore her.  After checking into our apartment we strolled around 5th Ave and went to the apple store to deal with my iPhone which I had cracked that morning at the Atlanta airport.  After, we went to an awesome restaurant near our apartment that my cousins wife, Melissa, recommended.  It was a charming little Italian restaurant called Bocca di Bocco; I highly recommend it!  We caught up over a couple glasses of wine, an arugula salad, seafood ravioli, and a fruity desert.  We were both full of excitement that night!

IMG_2536

Dinner at Bocca di Bacco with my mom! It is always so great seeing her

On the second day, my sister and her husband arrived.  I had to tuck myself away into a coffee shop near our apartment because I needed to apply for Allen Hall Public Relations, which is a student run agency at the University of Oregon.  After I finished, I met up with them and we went to check out this huge Italian store/restaurant called EATALY. It was everything Italian! The whole place was divided into different sections of Italian chocolate, desert, gelato, wine, pasta, cheese, fish, meat, coffee, sauce, and wine.  Within each section there was a restaurant or cafe.  It was amazing and I could have easily spent a whole day in there roaming around and eating.  We decided to eat in the fish section of restaurant which was fabulous. I ordered the striped bass grilled, which turned out to be incredibly tasteful and fresh.  While we were eating there, we spotted Chelsea Clinton!  For some reason, I thought/pictured her looking way younger but I guess not!  After dinner, my mom and I went straight to the gelato area for desert. She got a mixed berry gelato and I got banana stracciatella which had fresh chunks of homemade dark chocolate. 

On the third day, we walked around SoHo and had plans to go out to dinner with my cousin Brannon and Melissa later that night.  SoHo was so great, I LOVED IT.  Everything from the art galleries, shopping, architecture, and cafes were amazing.  I think that its overall vibe was why I liked it so much.  I definitely lost my mind for a minute in the stores Splendid, TopShop, and Piperlime.  If my whole wardrobe could be those stores I would be a happy camper! IF ONLY! After a lovely day of exploring SoHo, we met Brannon and Melissa at their apartment.  We all caught up over a couple glasses of wine, well everyone except Melissa and my sister because they are both pregnant with baby girls! Their apartment is located in the Bowery area and has a really nice view of the city.  We could see Freedom Tower and all the buildings around it along with the Empire State Building.  Since it was September 11th, there were two big lights where the World Trade Centers stood.  We then walked over to a sushi restaurant near their apartment called Bond St.  WOW! The sushi was SO GOOD!  I never thought I would find a sushi restaurant that had sushi as good as Osaka Sushi in Buenos Aires. It was just as good if not better!

IMG_2559

Exploring SoHo

IMG_2569

View of the city from Brannon and Melissa’s apartment

The following couple of days were great.  We rented bikes and biked around central park which was 6.1 miles all around.  It was pretty hilly so I got a great work out which I enjoyed since I haven’t been going on my morning runs here.  That night my mom and I walked around 5th avenue and got sucked into going to Free People.  We both love that store and ended up trying on so many clothes.  When we were about to leave the store, there was a torrential down pour outside. This was a disaster because we were forced to stay inside the store which led to us trying on even more clothes.  Oh the temptations…That night my mom and I packed for the Hamptons because Brannon and Melissa just bought a house at there and invited us to go there for the weekend.  I was excited to get out of the city for the weekend because I was pretty tired from so much sightseeing and exploring.

IMG_2586

Panorama I took of the city

IMG_2608

View of the new building One57 which is 75 stories!

The morning before we left for the Hamptons, we went to check out the neighborhood Chelsea and the High Line Park.  I think out of all the neighborhoods I have seen in NYC so far, my favorite was Chelsea because I could totally see myself living there.  If I were to ever move out to NYC for an internship or job, I would look for a place there, but who knows how expensive that is! It just gave off the type of ambiance that I love being around.  It had a pleasant architectural design and lots of little art/photography stands around.  After seeing High Line Park, my mom and left for the Hamptons!

IMG_2635

Simply beautiful!

IMG_2643

My sister being cute and pregnant at the Highland Park

New York City has totally exceeded my expectations.  I think I like it a little bit more then San Francisco which is saying a lot.  There are times when I really could see myself living here.  I’m interested to see where I will be two years from now!  Will I be in Denver, San Fran, Australia, NYC, Seattle, or somewhere totally different?  IT MAKES ME NERVOUS!

Leave a Reply

