My second week in New York City!

Man I am tired! We have done so much this week it’s absolutely insane. I honestly don’t really know where to start and it’s going to be hard to summarize five days in one blog post so I am going to elaborate on the main things we did each day! Let me just stress that MY FEET ARE REALLY SORE and I would love a foot massage!  So if anyone wants to give me a foot massage that would be totally okay with me.

On Monday, we went to the The Metropolitan Museum of Art which was amazing but way to big for me to handle personally.  I just didn’t know where to start.  I love museums but not when I have to spend more then three hours in them and one definitely has to spend more then three hours to cover the MET.  I think my mom could sense that I really wasn’t trying to see EVERYTHING so we chose what sections we wanted to visit out of the MILLION options.  We decided to see the Ancient Egyptian, Asian, Impressionist Movement, and Modern/Post Modern art sections.  My favorites were easily the impressionist and post modern sections because I love Vincent van Gough and the other artists from the impressionist time period.  I really enjoyed the simplistic styles that were present in a lot of the post modern pieces as well.  After seeing so much of Van Gough’s work in Europe, I developed a little love for his artistic style.  I think my favorite piece of his is Wheat Field with Cypresses! In the post modern section I appreciated the effortless qualities of the piece Spectrum V by Ellsworth Kelly.

IMG_2740

Wheat Field with Cypresses by Vincent van Gough

IMG_2772

Spectrum V by Ellsworth Kelly

Later that day my mom and I took one of those touristy “hop on and off” buses around downtown Manhattan.  It was so great seeing New York on top of a bus like that although it got pretty cold at the end.  The announcer on the bus totally noticed my mom and I shivering and gave us some ponchos, we looked so funny! Some of the neighborhoods we drove through were SoHo, Chelsea, Financial District, Chinatown, and Greenwich.

IMG_2807

My mom looking adorable in her poncho!

On Tuesday, we went to the Museum of Modern Art.  Okay, the contemporary art on the second floor…I don’t really know what do think about it.  It was all so weird and I don’t really understand why it is considered “art”.  There was one piece where the artist tied up a bunch of hair and framed it.  First of all, that is just gross.  Second of all, I could have done that.  Although the contemporary section was weird to me, I really enjoyed the rest of the floors of the MOMA especially the last two.  I definitely liked it more then the MET.  They had so many pieces by Picasso which I was really stoked about because I think he is awesome, but who doesn’t?  My favorite piece of work in the whole museum was called Dynamism of a Soccer Player by Umberto Boccioni, an artist from Italy that I have never heard of.  I liked it because it really caught my eye the most out of all the paintings in the museum due the combination of colors, shapes, and brush strokes.  I’m also a huge soccer fan so the title was an added bonus.

IMG_2873

Dynamism of a Soccer Player by Umberto Boccioni

On Wednesday, we took a boat ride which took us around Manhatten, the Statue of Liberty, and Ellis Island. That was my favorite activity of the whole trip reflecting back on everything.  I am definitely more of a site seer than a museum goer.  Being outside and seeing the view of Manhattan and Brooklyn on the water was stunning; it literally took my breath away.  It was a beautiful fall day and there wasn’t a single cloud in the sky!

IMG_2838

Panorama I took of Manhattan

IMG_2815

Brooklyn Bridge and Brooklyn

IMG_2851

I finally have seen the Statue of Liberty in person!

On Thursday morning, we went to the September 11th Memorial (Ground Zero).  I was really impressed with the memorial, it has been done so well!  I wouldn’t have it done any other way.  I liked the idea of having the pools where each tower stood going into the ground right next to the new world trade centers. As soon as I walked in I got the chills and a couple of times I teared up.  It brought back a lot of memories for the four of us and at one point we all sat down and discussed what we were doing the day the attacks happened.  I can’t believe I was in the 4th grade; it honestly doesn’t feel that long ago because I remember that day so vividly.  What made me super sad was when I saw flowers over peoples names on the memorial.  The whole experience was pretty emotional I would have to say.  A really awesome feature that was included at the memorial was the survivor tree.  This was the only tree that survived in the whole area after the attacks!  They had it anchored down so it could stabilize itself and keep living on.

IMG_2907

The north pool representing where the north tower stood

IMG_2897

No words

IMG_2913

My mom, sister, and I standing in front of the Survivor Tree

On Thursday night, we went to see The Book of Mormon.  It was my first Broadway show and oh my! I WAS SO IMPRESSED!  Everyone in the theater laughed the whole entire time including myself.  It basically made fun of the Mormon religion and it was right on point (sorry if you are Mormon and reading this HA).  Anyways, I highly recommend it if you want a good laugh. I would say that it got a little bit ridiculous at some points but I really got a kick out of it.

IMG_2924

WAY TOO FUNNY!

It was an amazing second week in New York City!  I had so much fun with my family and we all shared some great experiences together.

That weekend, I went to Princeton, New Jersey to visit one of my best friends from high school, Alex Jannotta, who goes to Princeton University.  My blog post will be up shortly about my weekend there!

Leave a Reply

